Refreshing minty shower oil

mintyoilI have really sensitive skin and my arms and legs tend to get superdry during the cold winter months, less now since I moved to Spain, but still somewhat dry and itchy. So I decided to completely stop using soap, instead I now fully rely on my amazing home made shower oil. As we´ve clarified earlier, oil dissolves dirt, and natural oils are easily absorbed by your skin as opposed to the synthetic ones.

So here´s my recipe for my home made refreshing minty shower oil:

A bottle of sunflower oil (preferably organic unrefined). Sunflower oil is odor less which is why I picked it. Olive oil works too, but has a very distinctive smell and maybe you don´t want to walk around smelling like a mediterranean salad.

Castor oil (organic and unrefined).  Castor oil has deep cleansing and anti inflammatory qualities, but too much might have a dehydrating effect so just put about 1-2 tablespoons in there.

Peppermint essential oil. Or any other essential oil that has a scent you like. Vanilla, almond, floral scents, whatever your preference is. I like the peppermint because its very refreshing, especially during those hot humid summers. The scent doesn´t really stay with you that long after you get out of the shower though, so it provides more of an aromatherapeutic shower moment.

I just use the original sunflower oil bottle (since it´s already a dark glass bottle that protects the oil from oxidation) and put the castor oil and peppermint oil in there, but if you prefer something nicer you can buy another bottle, dark glass bottles are to be preferred.

Now oil can be a bit tricky to completely rinse off your skin so I use a sponge or a wash cloth to gently rub off the oil under warm running water.

Leave a Reply

